Siemens and Allen-Bradley

Mark Buskell

A few European customers have asked if we would convert our controls from Allen-Bradley to Siemens. Right now our system is controlled by either a 16 Rack PLC5/30, 504's or 505's and a PKTX module in the desktop for the 504 or 5/30 using DH+. I have also designed a couple of systems using Compact Logix 35E.
Usually a dozen analog in and out (PID control) and 40/50 misc regular i/o.

I have some Siemens experience but not a lot.

I am considering contacting our local Siemens rep and possible buying 4 modules (2 analog in/out and 2 regular in/out), software, power supply, etc. and start experimenting.

I am not really worried about normal I/O, but I have heard the PID loop controls in Siemens can be a bit complicated.

I would also like the Siemens processor to support ethernet like the 505 and 35E.

Question: Is the the S7-300 my best bet here.

I will be contacting our local rep and maybe he might be my best source but I am hoping for a little heads up info here.

Thanks.

Your customers are probably NOT thinking "S7-200" when they suggest "S7". It is not uncommon over here, but not nearly as popular as in the US. So yes it sounds like an S7-300.

Approx 12 analog + 50 digital i/o. Ethernet capability.
I suggest the S7 315-2PN/DP or the S7 317-2PN/DP.
Both have Profibus and Ethernet capability.
315 is with regard to performance and memory size equal to a PLC5/30, SLC5/04 or SLC5/05.
317 has approx 4 times the performance and memory as the 315.
If you want to go cheaper than a 315, then consider a 314 + an additional Ethernet CP.

On to the obvious next question:
Is there a way to port AB code to S7 code automatically ?
Answer: NO.
The good news is that pure AB ladder translates pretty well to pure S7 ladder. Only it has to be typed in manually.

If you have other questions about how programming S7 compares with programming AB, then do ask here.
It can be a tough thing to find out by one self.