water tank level program

harrybon_98

H
hello everyone.

I am a very poor programmer and admit it freely if there is a hard way to do it I find it.

my problem is I have a set of tanks that have a heater unit and a pump the pump flow comes back into the tank. there are three senors in each of the tanks. there are two water flow valves to each tank in series; one is redundant in case the first sticks open.

one low level sensor to turn off the heater and pump if it turns off. the middle sensor is to do normal level control. the upper sensor is to turn off the redundant vale if it turns on.

so given the fact I have four outputs

water pump
heater unit
fill valve
redundant fill valve

and three inputs

low level
normal level
high level

how the heck do i accomplish this in the easiest way. am using an AB slc 500 1747-l40c processer (already in the machine).

any help will be apreciated. feel free to email me at [email protected] with any questions or comments.

For a start your high level sensor should be hardwired to the solenoid or contactor that operates your pump or fill valve.

That way even if you screw up your program you won't flood the
place. You can still take an input from the sensor to the PLC so you know why your pump shut off or valve closed and then post an alarm.

Next how do you start your pump or fill valve, hardwired buttons or HMI?

the pump and the heaters are hard wired to a push button on the front panel. the button turns them on or off as an input to the plc, the plc then outputs to the sontactor solenoid.

PLC Programming is a Journey, not a Destination.

harrybon_98 said:
so given the fact I have four outputs

water pump
heater unit
fill valve
redundant fill valve

and three inputs

low level
normal level
high level

and then
the button turns them on or off as an input to the plc, the plc

So now you are up to (5, 7, ?) inputs?

If you have trouble programming, this is one of the FOUR reasons why: