Commercial Ethernet and EtherNet/IP

arigatuso

Hello.

Could anyone explain me what are the fundamental differences between commercial Ethernet and Industrial Ethernet (EtherNet/IP)? Our company is evaluating the possibility of adding Ethernet cards to our PLCs so we can get more info from our machines.

Thanks,
arigatuso.

This subject is very near and dear to my heart. I have been doing Ethernet based control for over 8 years. The only differences I have been able to come up with are name and price. I am watching with disgust as some vendors are trying to bastardize Ethernet much the same way the field buses have been. There is a widely accepted Ethernet standard. If you stick with it, you'll be fine. If you start following a particular vendor's approach, you may find yourself painted into a corner.

My advice, do the basics and you will have plenty of choices and diagnostic information available.

The word Ethernet has become synonymous with the TCP/IP protocol stack. EtherNet/IP is an application layer protocol that runs on top of the TCP/IP stack or Ethernet in the 7th layer.
EtherNet/IP has fast become an industry standard. It's a complex protocol with a complicated header but it is robust and reliable.
Many Companies are or have been developing products that use
this protocol. Furnishing your PLCs with EtherNet/IP capability is a smart move.

Just remember that ethernet defines a packet for carrying messages and data, and defines the adressing, error checking, etc. Just because you have ethernet on your PC and on several different PLCs, don't assume they will be able to talk to each other. The enquiry and response strings are in the data portion of the packet, and are protocol dependent. For example, ControlNet, Modbus on ethernet, and DeviceNet on ethernet reuire separate drivers in your PC and must be received by a PLC that can decode the instruction. An Allen Bradley with ethernet won't automatically be able to talk to a Modicon on ethernet, for example.