PLC as Data Concentrator...

Fasthotrod

Good afternoon everyone.

A while back I asked for input regarding the use of a PLC to act as a 'data concentrator' as an interface between a new power system and an old building monitoring system. The original thread can be found here:

http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?t=34611

Since then, I have purchased the following:

One AD DO-06AR PLC: 120VAC w/Relays
Two FO-08DAH-2 8 Channel Analog Output cards
ZipLink DN-15TB Communications Connector Module
ZipLink ZL-DN15TB -CBL
One DL-06 Programming Cable
One DirectSoft5 Software package
One Users Manual

I installed the software and was able to communicate with the PLC. I wrote a quick program and made some outputs switch when given an input. (Hold the applause... I'm new at this. :oops: )

So now I think I am ready to dive into this project. (Okay... I know I'm not ready, but I don't have a choice but to dive in. :) )

I have been looking at data in my generator controller (Kohler DEC 550) using the Monitor III software on my laptop. My laptop is connected (RS-232) to the controller right now, but I can switch it to 485 using a dongle. (I'll be testing this to make sure I have my RX/TX lines setup properly between my laptop, PLC, and hardware points.)

Anyway, I have the documentation for the power system equipment, so now I need to figure out how to grab the data I need. I'll throw out an example and maybe you guys could point me in the right direction?

Example: I want the PLC to read what the generator output voltage is (0-150 VAC) and provide me an analog output (0-5 VDC).

The Kohler documentation states that this information is located in the following location in the generator controller:

Register: Data Description: Access: Data Type: Range/Units:
40004 ..... L1-L0 Voltage ... RO ... WORD ..... Volts AC
40005 ..... L2-L0 Voltage ... RO ... WORD ..... Volts AC
40006 ..... L3-L0 Voltage ... RO ... WORD ..... Volts AC