trending with RSLogix 5k

unsaint32

I am studying how to trend in RSLogix 5000. The PLC is Controllogix 5000 (5571). As you can see in the picture I am attaching, I added 4 tags to trend.

question #1) Why do I get the crazy numbers like 10.0000e-7? The three top tags are BOOL type tags. Why don't I get just 0 and 1, like the second tag in the table in the upper left corner of the picture?

question #2) So, is trending something I can do while I am offline? If I want to trend those tags over night, do I have to run RSLogix 5000 connected to the PLC online over night?

question #3) The bottom tag is an analog tag. At the moment the range of the value was between 1373~1378. Is there a way for me to increase the range (change the scale)?

Thanks.

trend.jpg

Hi

I would start by stopping the trend and then right click in the trend and you will see properties tab. Go to both the x and y axis and from here you can adjust your scale, time span etc. I normally keep my bool and analogue on different trends unless I really need them together as it's easier to look at and jus remember you can have a number if trends running at once. I have never come across any other way than have the laptop connected to the plc to run the trends as I understand it the software is on your laptop and not in the plc.

Hope this helps

Donnchadh

I am studying how to trend in RSLogix 5000. The PLC is Controllogix 5000 (5571). As you can see in the picture I am attaching, I added 4 tags to trend.

question #1) Why do I get the crazy numbers like 10.0000e-7? The three top tags are BOOL type tags. Why don't I get just 0 and 1, like the second tag in the table in the upper left corner of the picture?

question #2) So, is trending something I can do while I am offline? If I want to trend those tags over night, do I have to run RSLogix 5000 connected to the PLC online over night?