CompactLogix to SAP

Hello. Does anyone have any experience sending data from a Compact Logix to SAP? I want to read a barcode and then send that barcode to SAP for verification. I appreciate any help or insight anyone can offer.

Hello. Does anyone have any experience sending data from a Compact Logix to SAP? I want to read a barcode and then send that barcode to SAP for verification. I appreciate any help or insight anyone can offer.

I have no experience doing this. SAP is a huge, company-wide Enterprise database that does everything from accounts receivable to inventory and sales.

From my reading and a few stories from co-workers, SAP controls the communication, not anything it talks to.

It would surprise me if SAP does anything real-time, as in fast enough for you to confirm that a bar code is valid before doing something with it.

I would expect that you would need to talk to your IT department to get some firewall rules added so you can even talk to the SAP system, then talk to your SAP programmers to figure out what communication can be used (ODBC is the only one I can think of) so that SAP will poll the data. I expect that you will need to use a PC to receive the message from the Compact Logix, then have a program write the data to whatever SAP requires, wait for the SAP system to respond, then have the PC send a message back to the Compactlogix.

I hope it is easier than this! But I fear that I am being optimitic :(

I don't think you will have much luck communicating directly to SAP from a CompactLogix PLC.

You will either need some sort of hand-shaking database in between or most likely it will be easier using web services like SOAP or REST API.

We've done it before using Wonderware System Platform SCADA as an interface between PLC > SCADA > SAP using REST web services to post a JSON payload and we have a pretty much real-time transaction to send a new product type to SAP and get a batch code sent back in return.