Siemens STEP 7 Lite

Latzi

Lifetime Supporting Member
Hi,

I am brand new with Siemens 300 series.I did little work with 200 series using Microwin software.My main problem is that I was given a small project as a starter with STEP 7 Lite V3 and I have quite a few questions.
I am probably preconditioned by Allen Bradley but I saw that this is different big time.
I've read the literature from the installation CD and started to make my program I went quite ok untill I reached a point where I have to use a counter.Good.Now all counters have a preset number.So I created in OB1 a tag or symbol of INT type but I can't believe that you cannot assign a value for that symbol.
So I have counter C1 and I want to assign a value of 3 for the preset for this counter.
Do you have to use a move instruction somewhere at the beginning of the program to move a value of 3 into the "C1_PRE" or there is another way to make that integer value 3.
I saw in the absolutely useless sample program they provide that some data blocks are used and there you can do that.
Do you must use data blocks in a program or for a simple program you could get away just using the symbol table tags??
Could somebody explain this to me.Maybe even give me a sample file illustrating this?
The internet is big but not big enough just yet to contain a *.k7p file for download.Please help me out with this one.Thanx

Latzi said:
Hi,

I am brand new with Siemens 300 series.I did little work with 200 series using Microwin software.My main problem is that I was given a small project as a starter with STEP 7 Lite V3 and I have quite a few questions.
I am probably preconditioned by Allen Bradley but I saw that this is different big time.