Looking for career advice in PLC/automation industry

detroitPLC

Hello everyone,

I'm in a unique position and would really appreciate some career advice from people familiar with the automation industry.

I worked as an industrial automation engineer in my home country before coming to the US in 1999. This was back in the days of relays, etc. Since coming to the US, I've taken classes and studied PLCs on my own, and it's been a very much uphill battle. Meanwhile I've worked in the automation industry mainly as a technician, learning how to configure PLC, networks, devices, etc. I also have a general understanding of ladder logic, AutoCAD, cycle of operations etc.

My biggest limitation is that none of my previous positions were willing to train me in actual PLC programming (even though I asked many times). Because of this I lack the direct programming experience that should go with my many years of electrical automation background and experience.

I understand that many young PLC engineers learn by diving head-first in to a project, with a lot trial and error. This is not my style; I'm the type that needs to understand the concepts and specifics of a project before getting to work. Unfortunately in this industry there are few employers willing to provide training (everyone is looking for PLC guy who can hit the ground running).

So basically I'm at the point where I know much more than the guys in the shop, but I'm not yet comfortable working as a full time engineer. It seems that most jobs are either searching for one or the other, and I'm having a hard time finding a job that is a good fit.

The way I see it, I would do well in one of these types of position:

1) Entry level PLC engineer where I could receive training and guidance from an experienced engineer for a period of time
or
2) A controls-focused, cross discipline position where I can work with both engineers and electricians to bridge the gap between the office and the shop.