Bootp & dhcp

meghnesh

Hi frndz..

Can any1 please guide me on BOOTP/DHCP ?
I am really new to it.
I understand that it allots Dynamic IP address to various controllers from a BOOTP server and then renews back the address.

Please guide me more on how things work !!
Thanks in advance.

Bootp/dhcp

The Bootstrap Protocol (BOOTP) is an older Host Configuration Protocol which has been around much longer than Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol (DHCP). Both act very similarly except DHCP adds a few enhancements onto BOOTP. They both provide server assigned IP addressing to BOOTP/DHCP clients. DHCP includes the BOOTP protocol for backward compatibility with legacy devices. So any DHCP server can also receive BOOTP broadcast requests from legacy BOOTP only clients. BOOTP is used more so for assigning static IP addresses, whereas DHCP is used for assigning either static, or leased dynamic IP addresses.

The following is based on using Rockwell Automation's BOOTP/DHCP software v2.3.2...

When a client boots up without an IP address, and has BOOTP enabled, it will broadcast its MAC address onto the network using UDP request packets, seeking out a server to service those requests i.e. assign it an IP address. Once an IP address has been assigned, the client ceases broadcasting requests to the server.

Once a BOOTP server receives a BOOTP request, there are a couple of options as to how it assigns IP addresses.

1. Static IP addressing...