You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old March 14th, 2007, 05:11 AM   #1
pietervdb
Member
Belgium

pietervdb is offline
 
pietervdb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Ghent, Belgium
Posts: 67
Communication between Siemens PLC en AB PLC through profibus?

Hello,

I have a question. Is it possible to set up communication between a Allen Bradley PLC and a Siemens PLC through profibus.

It's because a client of us wants to buy a system that is based on a Siemens PLC but he wants it to communicates with the main AB PLC profibus network.

I'm new to the AB PLC systems so i don't know if something like this can be possible.

Thanx
__________________
Pieter Van den Bussche
Automation Consultant
Progicon bvba
Appelstraat 20
B-9000 Gent
http://www.progicon.be
  Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2007, 05:58 AM   #2
Ken M
Member
Scotland

Ken M is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: .
Posts: 1,136
Forget the fact that it's a Siemens PLC and an AB PLC. What you are asking is "can two Profibus devices communicate?" Well, of course. That's what it's there for.

As the AB PLC is already present and you refer to it as the "main" system, does this mean it is acting as Profibus master? Depending on the model of Siemens PLC being added it can probably act as a slave to the AB master. If the Siemens PLC can also only be set up as a master then the answer lies in a great little device from Siemens, the Profibus DP-DP Coupler. This little box has two ports for two separate Profibus networks. You connect the Siemens master to one, and the AB master to the other. You will have to reconfigure the AB to tell it about this new 'slave' device and set up how much data the slave is to handle (your choice, up to the Profibus maximum). Similarly configure the Siemens master for its slave and set up the same data selection. As soon as both masters are running the DP-DP Coupler will automatically make data from one slave available to the other. Outputs from the AB slave will appear as inputs on the Siemens slave and vice versa. Very neat, quick and easy.

Regards

Ken
  Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2007, 06:01 AM   #3
curlyandshemp
Lifetime Supporting Member
Canada

curlyandshemp is offline
 
curlyandshemp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,873
Follow this http://www.woodhead.com/products/aut...emodules/#2113
__________________
Work to Ride,
Then Ride to Work

I would rather have a bottle in front of me..
than have a frontal lobotomy
  Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2007, 06:16 AM   #4
pietervdb
Member
Belgium

pietervdb is offline
 
pietervdb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Ghent, Belgium
Posts: 67
Thanx al lot Ken for the information and curlyandshemp for the documentation.

This is what i need.
__________________
Pieter Van den Bussche
Automation Consultant
Progicon bvba
Appelstraat 20
B-9000 Gent
http://www.progicon.be
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Siemens PLC communication with PC TEOWK LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 May 28th, 2006 03:18 PM
Profibus Siemens Fritz_frederix LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 October 21st, 2004 09:18 AM
PLC to PLC Communication (Mitsubishi FX2N) c0met LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 May 31st, 2004 07:31 PM
Siemens S7-300 series PLC to PC communication Mahesh LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 December 7th, 2003 04:21 PM
profibus network between Siemens S5 and S7 PLC Leonardo LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 June 25th, 2002 09:05 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:16 AM.


.