question in electricity

briana banks

Hi All

I am a programmer no an electrician so please be gentle with me...

I have a 3 phases electric line
i have meter that meassures I,U,cos(phi) & P in each phase on the main switch.

each component switch(heaters,chillers,elevators etc.)on that line has an ampermeter on its entrance

The formula to calculate power is P=U*I*cos(phi)*sqrt(3)

I need to calculate the cost of each components on that line.
How do i do that? (P is not constant of course)
can i take the mean value of of U & P of a period of time?

the price list unit is cent/KWh.

thanx

Last edited:
Briana
In order to do what you want you will need to know V and cos(phi) for each individual piece of equipment. For simple heaters this could be estimated fairly accurately as cos(phi) will be unity. For motors there is more of a problem as cos(phi) varies with load and for any elctronically controlled heaters or VFD's estimation is probably not practical. The good news on the last case is that any VFD's will probably allow you to read P directly without calculation. If you have a large/complex mix of loads then you are unlikely to be able to estimate the power consumption accurately.
Andybr

Hi

The client is satisfied with taking the cos(phi)
measured on the branch's main line as a parameter for the formula.

how can i calculate the KWh and the cost?.

Try using a Fluke 43 power quality analyzer during normal operation ,take a measurement of the kw over a given hour, then you have the kwh, you will have to find out what their cost is from utility, also the is a demand multiplier. There are many professional metering devices out on the market that will do what you are asking on a continuos basis, they also have 4-20ma outputs so you can use as analong input to a control system.

Do you mean, to take the mean value of KW over a period of an hour?
The aforementioned formula was given to me by the client.
I use 'satec PM172'for monitoring