begginer's qustion

kiran_deodhar

i am totally new to this field.can anybody tell me is there any other approach than ladder logic for plc programming?
is there any, which one is better?
:(

Sure there are several different approachs. Some plc's such as the WINPLC sold by AutomationDirect.com use flowchart logic as their programming style. Still others use a structured text or a BASIC type programming. Some even use a combination of the above such as TRiLOGI . 👨🏻‍🏫 All the ladder code is used for is to act as the GUI for the programmer. Most all platforms convert the ladder logic that you draw into some type of lower level code when it is compiled. This code is what the PLC's processor can understand. As far as which type is better that would depend on the person doing the programming. Which type do they understand and follow the best. I am just as comfortable writing code in ladder as I am in flowchart but some people cant follow ladder but can follow a flowchart. Some can hash out code in basic better so they may choose a package that uses that type of coding. So it all depends on the programmer. :D I hope that I have helped.

Last edited:
IEEE 61131-3

There are 5 programming languages officially defined by the standard IEEE 61131-3.
Instruction List
Structured Text
Ladder Diagram
Function Block Diagram
Sequential Function Chart

As far as which one is "better" - that's impossible to answer. It is both a matter of personal preferrence, and suitablilty to the task (and the PLC - not all languages are supported by all PLCs)

I personnally prefer ladder in most cases, as it provides a nice graphical representation of what's going on. I don't see too much difference between LD and FBD, other than in the latter the "wires" can carry analog information (e.g., numbers) instead of just digital info (True/False).