You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old March 23rd, 2014, 01:13 PM   #1
strantor
Member
United States

strantor is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: katy tx
Posts: 189
How does this 590+ drive work without a speed or torque reference?

I was at a customer's location yesterday troubleshooting a capstan block on a wire drawing line and when I sucked the program out of the Parker SSD 590+ that drives the capstan motor, I found this:



This drive is connected via a profibus minilink module to a Siemens PLC. As you can see (you can't see the other two pages, so I attached the program - rename from .pdf to .590), the only interaction with the minilink module is writing to an analog output of the drive (which is not physically wired to anything).

There is an analog dancer signal physically wired to analog input 1 of the drive and also to the Siemens PLC. As you can see the analog input 1 of the drive is not connected to anything in software, so I figured the Siemens system must be taking the signal and conditioning it in some way and writing the speed/torque reference to the drive, but there is no minilink connection there.

I read that the Minilink module allows master device to edit the drive parameters, so I thought maybe, at run time, the Siemens PLC reconfigures the drive and connects a speed reference to the ramp block. But no, I had them run the drive while I re-retrieved the parameters, and nothing changed.

At the risk of sounding stupid, I would like to hear an explanation for this; I really donít get it.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Block 1 running with no spd cmd WTF.jpg (75.2 KB, 79 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2014, 06:53 PM   #2
osmanmom
Member
Malaysia

osmanmom is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: JOHOR
Posts: 1,371
System Port P3?
  Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2014, 08:39 AM   #3
strantor
Member
United States

strantor is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: katy tx
Posts: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by osmanmom View Post
System Port P3?
Well, that's an idea. I didn't know about the system port P3; a bit of reading reveals that it could indeed be used to input a speed reference, but even that block is not connected to anything in the drive. I'm not on site to verify, but IIRC there was nothing wired to P3. I could be wrong; I wasn't looking for anything connected to P3, so I might have overlooked that.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2014, 09:02 AM   #4
osmanmom
Member
Malaysia

osmanmom is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: JOHOR
Posts: 1,371
only idea maybe right/wrong

page 14-3 590+ Series DC Digital Converter
Attached Images
File Type: jpg P3 PORT IP.jpg (35.9 KB, 4 views)
File Type: jpg 5703.jpg (40.7 KB, 4 views)
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Motor Understanding Tim Ganz LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 18 July 30th, 2013 12:29 AM
690 rewind Smitty LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 May 26th, 2011 03:38 AM
Inverters with non-inverter rated motors JRW LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 28 September 29th, 2005 01:23 AM
Speed Control Vs Current Control Moses LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 March 18th, 2005 09:32 PM
contant speed, constant torque drive srirajas LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 March 28th, 2004 09:37 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:30 AM.


.