Device net and Allen-Bradley PLC question

Ken Moore

Lifetime Supporting Member
Information:
I do not have any exposure to device net, I always assumed that it was a type of RIO network. However, when discussing an upcoming project, device net was mentioned as a means of passing data between different brands of PLC's. Similar to Modbus.

Question:
Can this be done with Allen-Bradley PLC's? This will be for a small skid mounted piece of equipment, so I'm really asking about SLC's or Compactlogix. We're still buying new SLC systems, so that would be the preferred platform.

thanks,

Ken

Yes, it can be done. It's just not real easy in the SLC platform. I've only done this once so I'm not really an expert.

What you are referring to is explicit mesaging over DeviceNet. If I remember right this is the CIP protocol transfered in the non-cyclic data portion of a DeviceNet period. So as long as you set up your query right you can get information out of anything that supports this protocol.