You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old July 25th, 2007, 02:02 AM   #1
JERA
Member
Denmark

JERA is offline
 
JERA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 295
Data to STRING tag at startup

Hi

I need to have some STRING tags with ”constant” data in my project. I use these tags to build the strings for another system, and the data in these tags is the standard data in the strings we send.

My problem is that if there is made a restart of the system the data in the tags is lost, and the strings we send is wrong. So how can I make tags with a “constant” data, so we don’t have the problem with wrong strings.

PLC : Flexlogix (1794-L34)
Software : RSLogix 5000
  Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2007, 01:28 PM   #2
Lancie1
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Lancie1 is offline
 
Lancie1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 10,002
1. Save the data strings to a non-volitle memory location.
2. Set up a check, so that each scan, System Restart bit is checked.
3. If System Restart is on, move previous string data from non-volitle memory into working location.
4. Continue as usual.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 31st, 2007, 09:21 AM   #3
JERA
Member
Denmark

JERA is offline
 
JERA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 295
Thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lancie1
1. Save the data strings to a non-volitle memory location.
2. Set up a check, so that each scan, System Restart bit is checked.
3. If System Restart is on, move previous string data from non-volitle memory into working location.
4. Continue as usual.
Thanks for your help. The trick works.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Text Display on the PanelView Steve Crotty LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 10 September 3rd, 2006 11:41 AM
RSLogix 5000 V15 Features Samneggs LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 18 April 20th, 2006 05:45 PM
Handshaking and asynchronous data transfers RMA LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 May 17th, 2005 06:04 AM
interesting ASCII bugs in SLC-5/05 and RSLogix500 Ron Beaufort LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 13 August 7th, 2004 06:30 AM
clearing a string data file ettikudiappan LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 July 4th, 2002 12:24 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:41 AM.


.