obvious newbie, have questions!

stasis

ok...first, some background. I work as an electrician/troubleshooter in an industrial plant that makes corrugated paper (no names, please). I've used PLC's for troubleshooting, editing, etc., but have only written programs using PicoSoft Pro & Moeller Easy software. Our 'tech' guy quit, and his duties have been thrust, much to my objections, upon me. Now I've been asked to write a program for a Micrologix controller for use as a jam detector.

ok, on to the questions...
1. Can anyone recommend a site that goes in-depth concerning integers (sp?), HSC, math & comparators?
2. Is there a way to simulate a program in RSLogix 500, like in the PicoSoft Pro?
3. Any tips about getting started with programming in general?

stasis,

Your questions, in order of importance:

(3). Tips to get started: Learn the correct way (as opposed to what 95% of PLC programmers do), and figure out what Outputs that you need for your jam detector. In other words, once it sees a jam, what does it need to do? (Turn on an Alarm bit? Stop the machine?) If you can figure out the output, you are nearly done! :D Listing the inputs to detect the jam is then a piece of cake.

(2) The LogixPRO simulator is available from The Learning Pit (mrplc.com) and allows simulation of RSLogix programs.

(1) This site, of course, offers all those things you mentioned. You should sign up for Phil Melore's newsletter, where a variety of subjects are covered periodically.

If you still need help, make a beginning, then ask more questions here. If you have an urgent situation, send me a private message, and I will give you personal help (for what it is worth!)

Last edited:
You may be able to pickup some info in the "Learn PLC's" button on top of the page.