Question about weird COP instruction behavior

SergioB

Hi All,

I'm new at this, and I'm not able to understand what I believe to be strange behavior while using the COP instruction in my program.

I'm conditionally copying a block of data from the source N9 to destination N7. I then use some of the N7 words as parameters in a couple of SCP instructions (I mention this just in case is relevant).

The condition to copy the data is when a specific output is ON, so I'm additionally using an OSR instruction so it only executes once when the output cycles.

So it copies the block of data correctly, but when I go and change data from the source in N9, it changes in N7 without the COP (or rung) being executed! I added a CTU instruction in the COP rung to make sure it doesn't execute more than once and it doesn't. :unsure: Please see screenshot of the two rungs below:

COP_Behavior_question.jpg

Does anyone have any idea what's going on here?

Happy new year (almost)!!!

Thanks in advance!
sb

Last edited:
Can you post the whole program or look to see if there is another copy instruction where N9:?? is writing to N7:??.

I added a CTU instruction in the COP rung to make sure it doesn't execute more than once and it doesn't.

well, maybe it does ...

first step ...

change the CTU instruction to an ADD instruction ... for example:

Source A = enter an otherwise unused integer
Source B = enter the number 1
Destination = enter the same integer that was used for Source A ...

the reason:

the CTU must see a TRANSITION/CHANGE from false to true in order to count up ... so - the "test" that you're using is inconclusive ... specifically, if the rung is somehow staying true, the counter would NOT continually count - but the ADD instruction WOULD increment upwards each time the rung was executed as true ... so – the ADD would be a much more conclusive test of whether the rung is staying true or not ...

second step ...