You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old August 26th, 2015, 07:22 AM   #1
busarider29
Member
United States

busarider29 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Midland, MI
Posts: 89
FactoryTalk View Project question/s

Greetings from Michigan

I am required to make some minor edits to an existing PVPlus1000 project.

To ensure I'm backed up in case of any issues downloading new project to the PV, I have uploaded the existing project that is currently on the PV and saved locally on my machine. Can this project file be transferred back to the PV in case of issues using the transfer utility program? I "assume" that it can since it is a .mer file. I ask because my new project .mer file is twice the size of the uploaded one from the PV, and all I really did was add two buttons. So now I'm leery. I need to positively ensure that I can easily transfer the old program project back to the PV in case I run into problems transferring the new, edited program.

When creating the runtime project, I linked the shortcut that I created to a device on the right hand pane under “Runtime(Target)” and then created the runtime project. Is this correct? As that is my understanding from reading the documentation. The Design(Local) is for if you want to test the application from your development machine (?). I had to manually add the micrologix processor to the “RunTime(Target)” pane as that side does not browse the network like the “Design(Local)” side does. Correct?

As long as I have a solid backup plan to be able to put existing PV program back on the PV, I'm fine. That's my biggest concern right now before I proceed with the download.

Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2015, 07:54 AM   #2
Geospark
Lifetime Supporting Member
Ireland

Geospark is offline
 
Geospark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kildare
Posts: 2,385
The simplest thing I can say to you to do is, if the PanelView is available for testing, go ahead and transfer the backup copy you pulled of the terminal back on to it. Then load it and run it. This is the most sure fire way for you to know that it will work if something goes wrong.

Having said that. Once you have successfully uploaded a backup copy of the MER file, it should be perfectly fine to download again. MER stands for "Machine Edition Runtime". This is the correct compiled runtime file for running applications on PanelView Plus terminals.

Why is the existing MER file smaller than the new one?

If the project is the same, except for your small edit, then it is most likely that the original MER file was created without the option for conversion to an editable application file, called MED (Machine Edition Development) file. This means that only the necessary information to run the application was compiled into the MER file.

Your edited MER file is most likely set to allow conversion to an editable application MED file. This means that all necessary information to run the application, and all necessary information to develop the application are compiled into the MER file, making it much bigger.

Yes, the Runtime (Target) tab is where you setup the shortcut to the controller that the PanelView will communicate with at runtime. It is an offline path you are setting, so yes, it is not browsing. RSLinx Enterprise, that you see at the top, will be running on the terminal in a similar fashion to what you see on the runtime (Target) tab.

You sound like you're good to go!

Regards,
George
__________________
"A little nonsense now and then is relished by the wisest men".
  Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2015, 09:10 AM   #3
busarider29
Member
United States

busarider29 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Midland, MI
Posts: 89
Thanks George. That worked. All good now.

Thanks for the help.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RSLogix 5000 ver. 23 & FTView 8.0 jkerekes LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 16 February 12th, 2015 01:02 AM
How to integrate multiple FactoryTalk View SE Local project to an Network Project? Richard yang LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 November 4th, 2014 02:32 AM
1756-DHRIO/E not available in factorytalk view studio / RSLinx enterprise splintertje LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 September 18th, 2014 02:28 AM
FactoryTalk View Studio Animation Scaling with Resolution Change seestoryrun LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 June 11th, 2013 04:04 PM
FactoryTalk View Studio 6.1 SE Network Project, Display Component not Found Issue tatsumasa LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 September 2nd, 2011 05:54 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:29 PM.


.