bit shifting

exiled

hi there guys i know this will be easy for you
as a newbie here could someone explain the operation of the (AB) bit shift left and bit shift right instructions

many thanks in advance

The bit shift left function will shift all the bits in a matrix (register, DW ) left, towards the most significant bit.

The shift bit right will shift them towards the least significant bit.

You would usually specify how many places left or right the bits should be shifted.

I do not know AB PLC's so I can't give you specifics on this, but we use this function within our GE series six for tagging.

The first 5 bits on a 16 input block are the bits used for the tagging, so we use a shift right, 11 times to be left with the 5 bits that we need, we then shift left 11 times to bring the 5 bits back to least significant bits, as this function shifts in 0's we have a 16 bit register with 11 0's and the 5 bits that we require.

I am not very good at explaining this, but I hope this goes someway to answering your question.

Paul

The previous response is a pretty good definition of a BSL or BSR. However to help you a little more I can offer you an example of where I have used them. We have high speed wrapping machines that hold several pieces of product in the machine at any given moment. If a defect is detected in a piece of product a *1* is loaded into the BSL instruction. Each time the wrapper completes one cycle the product and the BSL are advanced one step. When the defective product reaches the reject point, the *1* has reached the last bit in the BSL and that bit address is used to switch on the output for the reject. That way even though the defect was detected many machine cycles ago the defective product is tracked until it can be removed from the process. In the right application this instruction is very nice to use.

I hope that helps you out.

Good Luck