FTView SE PLC to trigger a script

KolbLena

I'm hoping that this a simple problem that I just don't see.
Most of my background is with GE Cimplicity.

I'm running FTView SE 6.0 on a Windows XP SCADA computer with RSLogix5000 on the PLC.

I have a script that will generate data from the PLC and output it to a .csv. The script works fine when I tie it to a button.
I've also tested it so it will run when a when a screen opens.

The problem is I need to have the screen open when a bit turns true in the PLC so the script will execute.

I've put the bit in the alarm and event setup and put a message to display in the banner. The message displays when the bit triggers. But I can't seem to get the FactoryTalk View Command on that alarm to display the screen with the script.

I've also tried using a macro. The macro opens the screen when I tie it to a button, but again I cannot get the macro to run when the alarm triggers thru the alarm setup.

Should I be trying to do this thru the event monitor?

you should just be able to run your script from the 'logic and control' Events.
Create an event, monitor the tag in the expression for true, trigger your script in the action.
I routinely do this based off of a time of day in the events.

Thanks Gracefull -
Tried that - in the logic and control folder events I created an event with the action Display test_vba (the screen name that will execute the script)
The expression is {[PLC]Write_Report}=1
(also tried {[PLC]Write_Report}= true)
It's enabled. The syntax is valid. It's saved.
And it still will not execute.
It must be an undocumented feature I'm missing in FactoryTalk.

Is your event server running? try starting the event server in from the command line,
EventOn "your event name"
if that works you can start the event server from a macro or the component startup in your application.

Is your event server running? try starting the event server in from the command line,
EventOn "your event name"