It's "Thump on Tim" Time!

Hi gang!

This request is a little elaborate, so if nobody takes it, I'll understand :)

At the plant where I work, I am the only PLC programmer, and while I've been doing this sort of work for years, this is the first time I've been doing it to this degree. I've developed programs for three complete systems, reprogrammed another, and troubleshot a host of equipment.

The problem is, I had about 9 weeks of PLC in technical college, and the rest is entirely self-taught. I've taken elements of everything I could find - other people's code, a few books, you guys' input (only plagarize the best!) - to develop a style that makes perfect sense to me.

But having nobody else to discuss it with, I can't tell if I'm using the best techniques, or if my logic will make sense to anybody else who comes after me.

So what I'm looking for is a critique. Attached is a program I wrote for one of my shorter projects, and a brief description of how the machine operates. The op interface file is there too, if you wish to see it. Everything is RSLogix and Panelview.

Mind you, I'm not looking for a free debug. What I want to know is, can you follow the program easily? Does the logic make sense? Is the layout clean enough? Basically, if you saw this in a machine, would you like it, or want to rip it out and start anew?

Any feedback would be deeply appreciated.

Thanks!

TM

Tim- Like you I am mostly self taught.
Anyway I like what I see.
I can understand the file and follow it nicely.
I'm sure that there are a slim few, if any people at your company that can apreciate the work that you put into that project.
FWIW ATTABOY!

Tim,

I think you did a nice job.
The lay out is nice and easy to follow. Things are organized into
their own subroutines. (That makes trouble shooting a lot
easier.) ;) I try to write all of my code just like that.