user names and password for the panel view plus

SpikeZ

Hi Everyone,

I am a new electrical engineer. I am still learning PLC and HMI designs, so I need some help on one of my tasks now.

One of our clients saying there are 3 usernames and passwords in the security codes for the our panel view programs, and the client want to have these usernames and passwords from us. The programmer who did the panel view program has left, so my boss wants me to dig them out. I have the the project files including the .apa, .mer, .RSS. First I looked at the ladder logic using RSLogix 500, but nothing helps in there. So then I tried to open the .mer file to look for the HMI security codes using FT View ME Station software, but an error message shows that the HMI project contains more displays than my FactoryTalk View Me Station is licensed for, which is 15. Is there anything to do with my software, Or I looked at the wrong place for the usernames and passwords. Thanks!

In this case you will need to use the PV+ development software FactoryTalk View Studio for Machine Edition- RA Cat.No.9701-VWSTMENE .

Last edited:
In this case you will need to use the PV+ development software FactoryTalk View Studio Machine Edition (ME).

Thanks for your reply! Indeed I have the FactoryTalk View Studio Machine Edition (ME), but every time I tried to open the .mer application, ME software says the HMI project contains more displays than my FactoryTalk View Me Station is licensed for, which is 15.... I am really stuck now.....

You're probably going to find the User Names in FactoryTalk View Studio, which is the development environment for PanelView Plus applications.

First, open up FactoryTalk View Studio and see if the project is in the Existing projects list.

Usernames and Passwords for PanelView Plus are part of the FactoryTalk "local directory". I recommend looking for them on the development computer, if it was used by your previous programmer.