Motion control

worsel

I am a newbie to plc's who needs to implement a 2 axis motion control project. 10 yrs ago I built a pc based machine which worked fine, all done in asssembler. The trouble was as I was learning as I went it all took so long! I now need to do something similar for my business and I suspect it will all be a lot easier to use a plc for the rotary encoder inputs, and the ac motor drive outputs, with some sort of link to a pc based user interface. Are there plc's that are suitable for this application?

Well, yes, and no!

I am a newbie to plc's who needs to implement a 2 axis motion control project.
By your own admission, you are taking on a fairly complex project with little or no background. You might look at a servo drive system that is capable of interfacing to your PC. The PLC route is ok, except it can be a little daunting for a newbee. You will find that PLCs in general do not support servo apps without a fair amount of programming. Now, before all the ControlLogix and others jump all over that statement, I know they will work and do the job a little easier than their predecessors. However, you will still need the servo drives to run the motors, PLC outputs are not meant to do that. So, others will doubtless give you other options, but you should check out the servo drive systems first. They are first rate for your application and might be a better fit to your background in the old assembler days.

Just about any brand could. I think "down under" the main 2 brands are AB and OMRON.

AB offers options for motion control:
http://www.ab.com/motion/

OMRON probably has something similar but I am not familiar with them. I am sure BOB, Jay or someone will tell.

Its possible to get stand alone motion control from many sources.

AB Contrologix is Really Nice.