OT - Questions about Your Experiences with Machine Vision

SteveMaves

Hi All,

In a "previous life" at a different employer, I used to frequent this forum, and I've had some great experiences here. I know that this is a place where the "Voice of the Customer" can be heard, and people tell it like it is.

I'm wondering if any of you would be willing to share with me your experiences with Machine Vision. Good or bad, I don't care who's products you've used, I'm not even going to tell you which vendor I work for because I don't want to bias your answers.

If you'd be willing to share, you can comment here, however, I'd really like to have a phone conversation with you. I promise not to take more than 15 minutes of your time. If any of you would be willing to do this, please send me a Private Message, or reply with some contact info.

Thanks,
Steve Maves

I have worked with some older vision systems at my previous job.

1) Honeywell line scan cameras. Very rugged, very obsolete. I bet they're still sending them to Italy for repair. I have not seen another camera on the market that was so well suited to edge guiding with a builit in +/-15vdc output that we had wired directly to a servo amp.

2) Keyence (may have been the CV-701 or its predecessor, the CV-501). Very nice system at a decent price. It had a pretty easy set up process using a wired pendant, and serial and digital/analog I-O. I used its serial port connected to a PLC-5. I had issues with lighting in my test application, and the material I was trying to measure was very shiny and black with gum strips on the edges. Sometimes the edge finding tools would lock on to the inside edge of the gum strip, but I would have solved this with enough experimentation to get the lighting right. I left that company before I finished that trial.