Choosing an Electrical contractor

Pekan

Hi, I'm a small electrical contractor (industrial) who would like to develop relationships with SIs as a way to grow my business.

I'm wondering if there are any integrators out there who have done this and would like to give their opinion on the experience. I'm curious to find out if this was effective/productive/beneficial to your business?

I'm not soliciting business, just opinions.

Pekan

I'm not sure how to begin the relationship but one sure way to maintain one is to for all of your terminations to be neat and have a wire tag on ALL wires.

Also, if it is not listed on the prints or specs, then ask the integrator what wire colors to use (provided he is the one responsible for making the call).

I do it all (desaign, build panels, PLC software, commissioning, SCADA syatems) with sub-contractors doing the wiring, and sometimes building panels, for me. I even use SI type sub-contractors sometimes, but not often.

You will usually find that SIs will issue cable schedules for the sub-contractor to wire in and then do the terminatios of control cables themselves or direct the sub-contractors staff on how they are to be done.

You may be able to pick up some wiring work from SIs but I doubt that you will find one that would involve you in any other way than doing the 'hack' work.

I tend to disagree. If you are in an area that is devoid of any smart integrators or have a lot of contacts that require more technical work then an informal partnership with an SI is beneficial to both. If you can communicate to the SI what you want, they will design and build the unit or system, you install and pre-commission and the SI then turns up to do the final commissioning.
We do this with a lot of rmote area local electricians and it is beneficial to both parties.
Now finding a good, reliable SI who wont just use you to get your contacts or work is the hard bit.
Regards Alan Case