How to find IP address for the compact logix

Rehu09

Hi all,
I'm very new to plc programming but good thing is I understands program a bit and try to modify whenever required. I got new job in one of manufacturing industry and my manager asked me to connect one plc which is compact logix L30ER. I don't have IP address. This plc has two Ethernet ports I connected in one of the port and started opening rslinx. I don't know how to add plc address in scan table whose IP address I don't know. I tried even check in "CMD" typing "IP CONFIG ALL" I found nothing from there. Can anybody teach me how to actually find the ip address which we don't have.

Your comments are really appreciable.

Regards,
Rehu

Welcome to the PLCTalk forum community !

The easiest thing to do instead of trying to explain basic Windows IP networking from scratch, is for you to connect to the 1769-L30ER controller with a USB cable.

When you do, the USB driver is created automatically in RSLinx Classic.

Then you can use the RSLinx Classic browsing interface (called "RSWho".. it's a long story) to "drill down" to the controller's Ethernet interface, and right-click to review and configure its IP address.

If you're determined to use Ethernet only, create an "EtherNet/IP" driver and let it broadcast to detect the controller. The older "Ethernet Devices" driver does require that you know the address of the controller before you can connect.

Thanks Ken,

I did know how to RSWHO which actually shows who are active and all the scan table present over there. But my issue is
I have connected even USB Cable and went into RS LINK and didn’t found anything related to usb over there.

What version of RSLinx Classic are you running ? Is it native on your main operating system or inside a virtual machine ?

In general, you just plug in a USB cable to the controller and the USB driver automatically appears in RSLinx Classic.

So let's start out: do you know the IP address of your own computer ?