Software vs. Hardware PLC?

Total_newbie

I have next-to-no experience with PLC programming. I am a C programmer, and have an application (in C) running on control PC which needs to get some real-time data (pretty slow, 1 Hz or so) from an external device which normally is configured to connect to PLC via Ethernet connection. It looks to me like I have two ways to do this.
1) Get a hardware PLC as an in-between (between device and my PC control software), and then poll the PLC (I would probably connect to PLC via RS-232, as I have done this before...) for data for my C application.
2) Have software emulator running on my PC (RSLogix?), and have external device connected through that.

At least one advantage of (2) is that I don't have to buy another PLC (though I don't know price of software emulator software...).

An advantage of (1) is that I wouldn't have any overhead of the emulator running in background on my control PC (I do have to make sure that nothing interacts adversely with control software...).

Does anyone have any input regarding this, or some other solutions which I may be missing?

Thanks

How many IO ?

What you are designing as a data-acquisation system.
There are some that can work with PC hardware only, i.e. cards that you insert in PCI slots in the PC. If that is not the solution for you, then the problem is how to connect the field devices to something that you can log data from.
A low-end PLC is actually a cost-efficient way to get the data from the field devices into something you can log data from.
I recommend to go for a PLC with ethernet instead of RS232.

A soft-plc will bring you nothing. The soft-plc will still need to connect to the field devices, and that brings a whole set of complexity.
Also, the license for a soft-plc is usually as expensive as a medium to high-end PLC anyway.