ABB Active analog problem

Aburke

I am currently working on a job where i am recieving a 4-20ma signal from a tempreature controller. the signal is steady but the value in the plc is jumping around 10-15%

Processors tried, PM554 eco & pm573-eth
analog modules , AI561 & AX522

its only a problem with external sources, loop powered are ok.
i have tried everything i can think of!

I have used "statistic_real" to average it but its not ideal.

hooked the wires up to a SLC plc & was spot on so problem is back in the plc

its on both current & voltage inputs.

I have been using these plcs for around 4 years now & have only just stumbled across this issue.

Thanks in advance

Last edited:
My immediate reaction, too, was use an isolator, so I'm missing something.

>the signal is steady but the value in the plc is jumping around 10-15%

a) Does this mean that analog signal is steady when measured with a milliammeter, but the converted data values jump around?

>its only a problem with external sources, loop powered are ok.

>tried that (isolator?), not a noise problem.
>even with a calibrator it (the signal) jumps around

Let's confirm:

b) Loop powered current inputs do not jump around?

c) But a battery powered, "floating" calibrator the signal jumps around?

d) you've actually tried an isolator and it did not solve the problem?
further info:

d) Is the 24Vdc power supply used for supplying power to loop-powered instruments grounded one side or floating?

quote=danw;484693

My immediate reaction, too, was use an isolator, so I'm missing something.

>the signal is steady but the value in the plc is jumping around 10-15% Correct

a) Does this mean that analog signal is steady when measured with a milliammeter, but the converted data values jump around? Correct, we put a jumo logger in series & the 4-20 was steady. when the 2 wires are taken off the ABB & put on an allen bradely it is stable