ControlLogix L55 and Ignorance Problem

Good morning Gentlemen,

This is my first post and I need some serious advice.

Firstly I want to say I am not a PLC programmer nor do I wish to ever be one, I am a process Engineer that works for a small Systems Integration company in Ireland.

I got assigned to commissioning a water treament system in a Pharma plant and I've managed to make a really big mistake.

As part of a validation test I was required to shut down the PLC to demonstrate a system shutdown. THe test worked but what I didnt realise was that when the PLC was in "Program" mode it retained its outputs. I somehow left a steam valve opened over night which managed to cause a 15,000L tank to crack resulting in an employee inflicting serious scaulding. Now my boss says its my fault and I better have a good excuse.

The guy who wrote this program has since left the company and I cannot contact him.I asked a guy who works in Automation to have a look at his program and he said its awful, no structure to it and the entire program written in a single routine with no comments and over 100 warnings. Is this my fault? Was the PLC faulty or was it the steam valve? Where can i find documentation on this PLC?

There are quite a number of unfortunate events that are contributing to the results:

1) You are admittedly outside of your experience and skill set. Unfortunately, that's your boss's fault -- you should not have been assigned this commissioning task. Your skills are probably required in this commissioning, but not for this particular task.

2) The person who should have been involved in this particular task is no longer with the company.