Top-end control system system architecture? Please explain?

rustydud

Hey everyone
I'm new to a lot of the terminology on this drawing. This drawing shows the top-end control system architecture of a SCADA system.
I don't understand what the following terms:
"THIN CLIENT"
"ENGINEERING WORKSTATION"
"VIRTUAL SERVER HOST"
"SHARED STORAGE SERVER"

Ultimately I will need to spec the engineering workstation, the thin clients, the "MES", domain server, and virtual server host.
Can someone explain what the engineer is trying to show here? Why would each be needed in the system, what is their purpose?
Any helpful websites or videos that can explain these terms and all the nitty-gritty?
Thanks and Happy Friday.

Last edited:
My takes:

Thin client = dumb PC running some software via a server. Probably SCADA pages via the actual SCADA running in the Virtual Host Server.

Engineering workstation = PC with programming software for the Wonderware SCADA.

Virtual Server Host = Scada Server and/or database server (*) running in a virtual environment.
*: Probably not since there is a dedicated storage server.

Shared storage server = database server

There are many ways to interpret the diagram.
For example, is a thin client a front end for a full SCADA, or displaying pages from a SCADA with client/server functionality ?
And why is the SCADA running in a virtual environment but not the database server ?
Apart from initial guesses, I would be vary about provide advice based on guesses.
I would ask the engineer directly rather than trying and guessing via forum members that dont know your exact situation.

A thin client is simply a computer that depends upon another computer to handle much of it's task. This may mean that it runs as a simple terminal that rely's on a servers operating system or it may have a very simple operating system that does nothing more than fulfill its role as an HMI (for example).

Thin Client: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thin_client