asynchronous scan

unsaint32

Hi, I am a newbie PLC person and I would like to clarify info regarding PLC asynchronous scan. I came across the attached picture which seems to show that the I/O task and comm happen simultaneously. But the I/O task interrupts the comm task which interrupts continuous task. Therefore, in reality, I/O task and comm do not happen simultaneously. Am I correct?

Also, I understand that once the I/O task had begun, it cannot be interrupted (even by a motion planner), correct?

Thanks.

asynchronous scan.jpg

In reality, it's even more complicated than that :)

Each individual I/O card or ethernet module or any other I/O device can have a different RPI, so you might not have all of your inputs or all of your outputs updating at the same time.

You can have have multiple tasks which can be triggered by an event or run every x seconds (or milliseconds).

For all intents and purposes, almost anything can happen at any desired frequency. But you're correct in that the PLC can only do one thing at a time, so there are always tasks interrupting other tasks, depending on which one has the higher priority.

I personally don't know all the ins and outs of what operations have which priority. I know that when it comes to your logic tasks, you can assign them priority so that you can control which one overrides which other one. I know that in a Compact Logix, the I/O updating has a fixed priority of "6", whereas in a Control Logix, you can define the I/O updating priority yourself. I know that the continuous task is the lowest priority of all, and that the only thing truly "continuous" about it is that it's continuously interrupted by everything else. Beyond that, I'm going to hang around and see what else I can learn about priority from the more experienced boffins here :)

Moreover...:D