Windows XP and Siemens software

Borte

Hello!

Have anyone here had any experience with Windows XP and any siemens software?

I'm looking for a new laptop but it is only configured for WinXP, so I need to know if I can use the siemens software on this os.

Regards
Borte

I've been using S7 on my XP machine for about 8 months now, and am satisfied. I thought I found a couple of bugs that were XP related, but it turned out that they were V5.2 related instead (Siemens is coming out with V5.3 this month). Go ahead and get the XP box.

I have been using Step 7 v 5.1 SP6 with Windows XP for over a year. Works great with the CP5511 Lan adapter. I don't use ethernet b/c I dont have the softnet package.
With Protool v5.2, I had a lot of system errors and the program would close. I upgraded to protool 6 and it is very stable.
The lastest DriveMonitor and Starter progs work with no problems

Last edited:
You may have problems using a CP5511(PCMCIA adapter) with XP, the CP5512 works and they have a USB adapter now but I have not used it.

I currently have the CP5512 so that should be ok, I also checked the compatiblity list from siemens and it seems to be ok if I stay on versions above 5.2 (or higher).

The next thing that would be a consern regarding a new laptop would be that the serial ports have been replaced with usb, have anyone tried to download from protool over usb to serial connection?

Regars
Borte

I had a Belkin USB adapter and a pcmcia serial adapter, I used both to reload programs in OP17's. The hardest part with Siemens was waiting for a version of Simatic S7 that would run in XP, I got that laptop about a year before they released an XP version.

Ok guys!

I have now ordered my new laptop with a XP system.
So I guess all i can do is wait and see...

Thanks for the help

Regards
Borte

Hello,