Visual Basic for Automation

recondaddy

First of all, I hope you guys had a great Thanksgiving!

Here's a project-type question. I've been programming Rockwell PLC's for the last five years, but that has been the limit of my automation experience. I've been doing some thought experiments, lately, and was curious about something.

If someone didn't have a PLC and wanted to accomplish some simple automation tasks (reading sensors, turning on a relay, etc.), could a Visual Basic program be written on a PC to replace a PLC? Nevermind the question of whether someone SHOULD (cost, efficiency, ease of troubleshooting, etc.) I'm just wondering if it's even possible.

If so, what all would someone need to accomplish it besides the PC and Visual Studio?

Is there any kind of I/O hardware that could interface with it? If so, is there a way to get the tag data into the program (OPC server, etc.)? What type of communications media could be used to transmit the data from the I/O hardware to the PC? I'm not seriously considering it. I'm just trying to broaden my general knowledge of what I do, everyday. I think I do a lot of things, sometimes, with little knowledge as to why I'm doing it and what is going on behind the scenes once I dump my program into the PLC.

I know a little bit about hobby engineering -- microprocessors, ICs, etc. But all hobby engineering seems to use the PC only as a means of programming a microprocessor to handle all the external tasks. I was just curious if the microprocessor could be skipped and the PC used to accomplish the tasks that the microprocessor would normally do. If so, what would I need.

Thanks for any help you can provide.

Last edited:
Yes it is possible BUT it is definitely not easy.