Micro 1200 PV300 first post

snordvikqplas

Supporting Member
Okay giving this another shot, logged in paid my membership but when I went to preview post promted that I was not logged in and lost post, lesson learned: copy paste for backup in word.

Hello and thanks for your time.

I am relatively new to the AB PLC world having spent the last 8 years traveling and doing more electrical and non AB control work in the field. That has recently changed (thankful for that)

I have the following devices:
Micrologix 1200 1762 L24BWA
PV 300 2711 K3A17L1

My goal was to get these two devices to communicate accross a network to were I would only have to use the ethernet driver in Linx in order to work with them.

I know that the PV model I have is a DF1 port and the only way to change this is (ie DH485 which would allow for comm over AIC+) would be a firmware upgrade using the utility program. I was unable to find that file on AB site or a link to the file in this forum. Do you need techconnect for this?

So with that wall in front of me I did more reading and came across a diagram ( 2711-UM014G-EN-P page 206 ) that showed a DF1 PV being connected to a 1761 NET ENI which connected to another 1761 NET ENI which was connected to a Micrologix. So thought this may work for me, I have the right devices and cables. My mistake I believe that the diagram was only showing how to setup for message sharing (DF1 setup using ENI/ENIW utility program) and not for viewing through RSLinx using an ethernet.

Cabinets on the floor have a Micrologix 1200 1762-L24BWAR which has the two serial ports, one is connected to a PV300 K3A17L1, while the other is connected to a 1761 NET ENI. ENI is connected to a switch which then has a cable to a RJ45 port on the outside of the cabinet. Of course I am only able to see the Micro in Linx to work with the PV I have to access inside of the cabinet, change driver etc.