Suggestions for optimizing code/control system/process facility

Guarado

First time posting to PLCtalk so be gentle with me. We just got done working on shortening a Mobile Spreader and the company has asked us to look into optimizing their facility. It is all Allen Bradley/Rockwell kit and the control system/machine is starting to get to the point where it needs to be updated. Because they have operated on a break fix mentality with minimal maintenance the machine faults a lot. I am a relatively inexperienced recent graduate so am looking for any suggestions no matter how simple/silly on how to improve their controls. This could be from common industry practices to technical solutions. Basically I’m looking for any help I can get to better understand PLC’s and how to make them function better. Thank you in advance

Edit: the sort of thing I’m looking for is switching to using AOI’s or having links to schematics on the HMI. I don’t mind if something you are thinking seems basic and everyone would have thought about it I would still like to hear it!

Last edited:
Welcome to the forum.

just my opinion, but no matter what you do to the plc program or hardware on any machine, you MUST keep up the machine maintenance!
machine parts wear out, cylinder seals age and leak, chains stretch/break. as the machine runs, the newness / tightness of the machine fades and maintenance must be kept up. as a result, cylinders take longer to get there, chains that stretch do not let the parts get there on time, parts that wear do not put the parts in process in the line to be seen by photos, proxes, limit switches. unless your plant realizes that, you are in for an uphill climb.
you need to go from start to end on the line, document everything that you find that needs repair, get a budget and add 30% (you will find more stuff during the repairs), start doing the repairs, and establish a pm plan for the line.

james

Last edited: