You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 13th, 2022, 10:33 AM   #1
kckku
Member
Canada

kckku is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Location: Toronto
Posts: 35
Tuning a new servo motor

I always thought that it's a good idea to tune a new servo motor but some people at work doesn't think so. We recently had to replace a bad servo motor that drives a linear axis. I mentioned to them that I think you have to tune new motor before running it but somehow they didn't do this.

What's the right answer?
  Reply With Quote
Old May 13th, 2022, 12:17 PM   #2
DarrylR
Member
United States

DarrylR is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: illinois
Posts: 47
Always a good idea to tune the drive/motor when replacements are introduced. It's quick, easy and goes a long way for system optimization.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 13th, 2022, 01:15 PM   #3
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 16,513
Is the new motor an identical part number to the original ?

In most systems, the motor data is stored in the motion controller or servo controller. If that data is still stored, and the new motor is physically the same as the old one, then there's no need to re-tune the system. The commutation and feedback and resolution and signal and inertia and magnetics are all the same.

Certainly sometimes a motor fails because other parts of the system have degraded or changed, and tuning the motor to account for new loads or dynamics is appropriate.

And I have worked on systems that were so sensitive that replacing a blade or bearing would require re-tuning.

But in general, just replacing a motor does not require re-tuning a servo controller if there have been no other changes.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 13th, 2022, 01:33 PM   #4
ndzied1
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

ndzied1 is offline
 
ndzied1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 2,732
I was going to post what Ken did but he beat me to it.

However it could be dependent on the motor and drive. And really, you are not "tuning the motor" but the system.

Some older systems could require you to find the commutation offset of the motor if the motor manufacturer does not set them all the same or if you sent it to a repair house that doesn't know what they are doing. The drive needs to know the location of the windings in the motor with respect to the motor feedback so that it can properly excite (commutate) the motor. When required there is usually a procedure in a manual that explains the steps to do this.
__________________
nOrM
======================
nOrM=Norman Dziedzic Jr.
I've never been to China but my phone has.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 16th, 2022, 08:56 AM   #5
kckku
Member
Canada

kckku is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Location: Toronto
Posts: 35
The motor that is being replaced is the same as the original. This is an Omron servo motor and I think the parameters are stored in the servo drive. In this case I think you are right and I don't actually have to tune the motor again if nothing else has changed.

In this particular case, the bearings on the linear axis failed over time and they put in a new axis. The old servo motor seized and doesn't want to move when everything was put back together. Not exactly sure what caused this but I was asked about replacing the motor. Maybe the failing axis caused damage to the motor? Not 100% sure.

Anyway if they are putting in a new linear axis and motor then I think they will need to tune the system again? The part numbers for the motor and the axis are the same but the parts are physically different with them both being new.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 16th, 2022, 09:20 AM   #6
Steve Bailey
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Steve Bailey is online now
 
Steve Bailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The boondocks of Western Massachusetts USA
Posts: 7,850
It won't hurt to run the tuning procedure once the new motor is in place. And in case they retuned the old motor as the mechanism deteriorated, it might be a good idea to do so.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does kinetix 5500(2198-H040-ERS) support VPL-B1003F series servo motor? cocoroco89 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 June 16th, 2016 10:31 AM
a module defined tag indicating servo motor not turning unsaint32 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 August 28th, 2015 05:41 AM
servo motor control irondesk40 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 June 7th, 2012 08:48 PM
Control Servo Motor With PIC Nauman LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 June 25th, 2008 09:39 AM
Hydraulic Control Advances Jasonc24 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 14 June 16th, 2005 02:52 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:46 PM.


.