Use a PID?

MarBa

I have been doing some reading on this site and a few other on PID. I am doing research for a current project and am not certain if I should use a PID or not. (If so I have a few lingering questions as to how to handle the I/O of the PID.) I've never used PID before but am learning all I can before comitting to use/not use it. A person can only read so much before they need input from experience to make sense of it all.
Here is what I've got and what I'm planning:
I've got a steam boiler connected to a 200gal mixing tank with an air actuated valve on the steam inlet to the tank. The tranducer is 4-20mA. I'm using a 100ohm RTD to get my temp reading from the tank back to my PLC. The PLC is AB MicroLogix 1500 24AWA with CompactI/O RTD module. I'm using RSLogix500 Standard for the ladder. I've also got a touch panel for HMI.
We are going to make frosting and then package it for shipping with our main product. The process is fairly simple-> add ingredients, start mixing and heat. Bring to boil for 3 minutes then reduce heat and add another ingredient before mixing for 10 minutes then dump the batch to the packing machine and start a new batch of the same. All ingredients (mostly water) will be put into the tank manually.
Here is why I wonder about if PID fits this, I could shut off the heat for the last ingredient and mix time, then turn it on again for the next batch. The arguments for PID right now is that I run risk of burning the mix (lots of sugar in frosting!)with just on and off heat where PID is letting me set a goal temp and automating the 3min boil timer more easily I think. What do you think??