You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 23rd, 2018, 12:08 PM   #1
Old No. 7
Member
United States

Old No. 7 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Ohio
Posts: 124
Converting Rockwell to Siemens

Working on a project where the customer requires Siemens PLC's (S7-1500) and HMI's (Comfort Panels). The project is similar to ones we've done before with Rockwell/AB PLC's and HMI's. We have both Compactlogix platform and SLC/Micrologix platform). Both used Panelview Plus HMIs.

There is about 5 different pieces of equipment each with their own PLC and HMI that are all different.

We tried the "auto conversion" that Siemens did for us on a different project (one Compactlogix PLC only) and it kinda/sorta worked, but left tons of errors to clean up and in that case it may have been faster to just start over.

On this project, there just isn't enough time to develop 5 programs (several hundred rungs, recipes, PID control, etc) and 5 HMI's (probably 50-75 screens each) from scratch.

Any recommendations? Our Compactlogix program uses lots of UDT arrays that I'm worried wouldnt' convert well or at all. Would converting a SLC work better/worse?

Any idea how well their conversions of HMI's works?
  Reply With Quote
Old May 24th, 2018, 01:58 AM   #2
cardosocea
Member
United Kingdom

cardosocea is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Fields of corn
Posts: 823
I am yet to see a conversion that looks well out of the box. I found the Siemens result from PLC5 better than Rockwell's, but I'm not an expert in conversions and may have missed a setting.

Unfortunately, I think that unless it is structured text, conversions will always be iffy.

Are the 5 systems similar in any way that you can move code from one to other? Siemens allowing functions and function blocks I would say that reusing code is one way to speed up the process.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 25th, 2018, 03:15 AM   #3
sigmadelta
Member
Canada

sigmadelta is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: From Canada - Living in Bulgaria
Posts: 728
Right now I am converting the other way (Siemens S5 to Controllogix) for a client. If you need help, let me know. I am not aware of any automatic HMI conversion utilities from Rockwell to Siemens or vice-versa. You would need the PLC done first so that the PLC addresses are defined for the HMI application.
__________________
Freelance Automation Programmer
  Reply With Quote
Old May 25th, 2018, 08:25 AM   #4
widelto
Member
Colombia

widelto is offline
 
widelto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: barranquilla
Posts: 2,539
I have never use it, but i found this siemens S7 to logix5000 conversion manual, may be this can help you.
http://literature.rockwellautomation...p008_-en-p.pdf
__________________
My two cents.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 25th, 2018, 09:39 AM   #5
the_msp
Lifetime Supporting Member
United Kingdom

the_msp is online now
 
the_msp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 618
I know a Siemens distributor that used to be an RA dist. They have a tool to convert. PM me if you want their details.
__________________
Regards,

Patrick

https://www.youtube.com/user/MrMatrixEngineering
  Reply With Quote
Old May 25th, 2018, 02:51 PM   #6
spaderkung
Member
Sweden

spaderkung is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: A flat type "4"
Posts: 324
You will only have to develop one from scratch. The remaining 4 is conventional copy paste development. On the bright side the 1500 is much more close now to ab programming.
__________________
Jon Bolmstedt, Inspired Automatician.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help converting STL on Siemens S7-300 to ladder easingwm LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 16 February 16th, 2018 02:13 AM
connecting Siemens S7 via Moxa convertor imurphy LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 June 5th, 2015 08:40 AM
converting the Gem80 PLC logic in to Rockwell PLC chat0766 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 March 31st, 2014 11:33 AM
Rockwell -> Siemens Communications lostcontrol LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 March 16th, 2011 07:29 AM
Rockwell Allen Bradley Programming Software, RSLogix 5, RSLogix 500, RS Linx, RSLogix vvcd LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 21 September 24th, 2009 10:04 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:08 PM.


.