Allen bradley 500

Mr_lee

I'm new to programming were putting a old AB 503 plc we got on a press it has boxes running on belts. Would like to put a photo eye to count the boxes and some how turn that into boxes per minute on a panel view. Any help would be appreciated thanks

Anybody who's interested in helping would probably like to know the PV model, comm. channel, etc. Stuff like that.

Two basic methods.
1. Count the number of boxes over a one minute time period. Or count the number of boxes over a six second time period and multiply that by ten. Or some other fraction of a minute,
2. Measure the time between boxes. Convert that time to a fraction of a minute. That gives you minutes per box. One divided by that gives you boxes per minute.

Two basic methods.
1. Count the number of boxes over a one minute time period. Or count the number of boxes over a six second time period and multiply that by ten. Or some other fraction of a minute,
2. Measure the time between boxes. Convert that time to a fraction of a minute. That gives you minutes per box. One divided by that gives you boxes per minute.
That makes sense but I'm learning could you maybe tell me what instructions I would use to do this.

I'm not very familiar with Allen bradley myself, but generically you would:

- use a flank detector to detect a rising edge on your photocell.
- when the flank is detected, you would increment a counter.

- Set a self rearming timer of 1 minute (or variants described above), when the one minute is up, copy the counter to a variable, reset the counter, reset the timer.

- if you are not using 1 minute intervals, do the math on the variable to figure out parts per minute.