Wire labeling and electric diagrams doubt

Loztos

Is there a standard or guideline to wire labeling?

I have some experience as control engineer , an depending on the PLC brand being used we change the label nomenclature (IX.Y for siemens, I:XX/YY for AB, etc)

It had worked just fine with small to medium projects. Now that we are working in bigger projects, we have had some throuble when using remote i/o (EIP, PN, PB, IOL) with the CompactLogix family, because it doesn't use the same addressing as the MicroLogix, so the label is only used to identify the wires and sensors.

Some time ago, i tried to implement only one nomenclature (based on siemens), but one engineer told me that it was for Siemens, and had to change it back to AB.

I have seen drawings of some machines that came from europe (Germany in general), and noticed they idetinfied any module with a letter and the page number, and then refer to the inputs with a subindex.

Is there a standard to do that?

I know it's easier when you use the addressing on the PLC, but you have to change everything if you change the PLC or the i/o module address.

The first rule in wire numbering is: keep it simple.

The second rule is: make it consistent.

After that you are on your own.

The system that has worked best for me is to use the rung number where the wire is first shown on the electrical schematics. I increment rugs by ten. Every sheet of a drawing starts with a unique rung number.

Each time the wire passes through a device that may change its electrical state (a switch for example) the wire number changes by adding to the first number. (1010, then 1011, then 1012, etc.)

Thanks for your responces Tom & Paully.

Tom, we are using a system similar to yours.