Red Lion Crimson 3.1 - Data tags with complex code

jt__

Hello,

I have 6 RTUs all with the same program load. I am trying to setup my HMI with one set of data tags and one set of screens and use a pointer or variable that will reference the RTU. I was hoping to set this RTU variable when they push the button to navigate to the screen. I am not sure the syntax or how I am supposed to configure my data tags to achieve this.

RTU would be my variable so I was hoping something like this in a complex code expression would work: return [RTU.000600];

Values for RTU would be sep01, sep02.....sep06

I am trying not to have 6 different sets of data tags and screens with the only difference being the device. Any tips or best practices would be greatly appreciated. I am new to these Red Lion HMI's.

Thanks.

Welcome to the PLCTalk forum community !

What exact model of HMI and RTU devices are you using ? What networks and protocols ?

Crimson 3.1 is marginally newer, and there's less experience here with the Sixnet RTUs and the modern Graphite and Core/Edge controllers than with the classic G3 and DataStation products.

I think that the way to do this would be to make the network address of your RTU a Tag instead of an explicit address (like an IP address), and set the value of that Tag when you switch screens.

The concern is how fresh your data would be when you switch screens; if the HMI is happily polling whatever-RTU-was-last-addressed in the background and you switch to an RTU detail screen and update the address to a new RTU, you're going to have stale/incorrect data until the updates from the new RTU complete.

Alternately, I don't know if you can programmatically change a Tag Folder in Crimson. Whenever I pose a Crimson programming question to the Forum, I end up leaning quite a lot that's not obviously in the manuals.

Hello,