compact logix PID issues

csamuelsen

Hello all!

First official post here... have been using the site for help but managed to find existing threads to help with all previous issues.

I recently completed an upgrade project and am having issues getting my PID working that controls the main motor.

A brief overall description is a wire spooling application. One motor to turn the reel, another that lays the wire nice and even. I have the line running off of a very crude ramp function but long term need the arbor motor running on a PID.

I have attached screenshots of the code relating to the PID and will appreciate any and all suggestions as this is my first time actually working with a compact logix.

The issue I am facing is that I see the setpoint changing(feet per minute) once I change the line to a run state. The issue I have here is that the output is never changing from 0. I have scaled the setpoint and process variable before inputting to the PID so that 0 is equal to -600 fpm, 8191 is equal to 0 fpm, and 16383 is equal to +600 fpm. I haven't done any tuning yet so I just entered my default non zero values for kp and ki.

Please throw out any suggestions you may have so I can give it a go.

Cheers
Chris

pid block 1.PNG pid block 2.PNG pid block 3.PNG pid block 4.PNG

If the PV (Actual_FPM_PID_Scaled = 8191.5) is above the SP (0.0), then does the output CV of the PID need increase or decrease to drive the error towards zero? I.e. if the CV increases, will that increase in CV cause the PV to decrease or to increase?

Also, if the normal range of PID PV values is 0.0 to 16383.0, then why are the PID PV input scaling values set to 0.0 to 4095.0?

If the PV (Actual_FPM_PID_Scaled = 8191.5) is above the SP (0.0), then does the output CV of the PID need increase or decrease to drive the error towards zero? I.e. if the CV increases, will that increase in CV cause the PV to decrease or to increase?