Connecting AB SLC 5/03 with Siemens HMI

VoltSmith

I'm trying to connect a Siemens HMI (MP277) with an Allen Bradley SLC5/03. I understand that the channel 0 of of the AB CPU is RS232C, and can be used for HMI connection. But I'll need an RS232C-RS422 converter for it, since the MP277 doesn't have an RS232C port.

A more direct connection can be made from ch 1, which is RS485, to the HMI serial port (which is selectable between raw RS485 and Profibus).

Has anyone tried this?

I'm connecting IF1B of the Siemens MP277 to the RJ45 on the SLC5/03. Pinout is as follows

Code:
RJ45   IF1B   Description
1      3      B
2      8      A
4      5      Gnd
However, the devices are not communicating. I have no experience with AB platform. Is it actually possible, what I'm trying to do?

Regards.
Rahul

Last edited:
Electrically you should be fine (I didn't scrutinize your pinout) but they probably can't communicate anyway. The RS232C port on the 5/03 is limited to DF1 protocol or ASCII.

Channel 1 is purely DH485 protocol.

You would be better served with a protocol converter in between them.

Thanks much OkiePC. That was a _quick_ response!!!

The Siemens HMI can talk to a LOT of PLCs using a LOT of protocols, including DH485. That's what the configuring software (WinCC Flex) is saying.

I was interested to know, if someone has actually done this before.

Thanks much OkiePC. That was a _quick_ response!!!

The Siemens HMI can talk to a LOT of PLCs using a LOT of protocols, including DH485. That's what the configuring software (WinCC Flex) is saying.

I was interested to know, if someone has actually done this before.

Oops, I saw Siemens and didn't see HMI...my bad...I was locked onto the idea that it was a Siemens PLC. I have no experience with Siemens yet.

Depends on the model of 277 you have..

Thanks much for the link, Genius. MP 277 doesn't have that many varieties, and all of them support DH485. My challenge is on the AB side, which I know very little about.