You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old March 31st, 2020, 09:07 AM   #1
Tronador
Member
Canada

Tronador is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Quebec
Posts: 5
Best strategy to isolate conveyer for maintenance?

Need advice! We have a powder coat line controlled by 4 DL06's networked together. Each unit controls a segment of the process, the conveyor, the ovens, the dry off fans, etc. We need to do some maintenance on the conveyor. However the system is not programmed to allow the conveyor to run by itself. When the line starts, everything starts.

We are trying to find the simplest way to control the conveyor, without complex changes to our current program if possible. Some ideas we had:


- Write a simple program to control the conveyor, replace the production program on the main plc, perform the maintenance and then revert the program.


- Engage the conveyor manually from the motor controller during the maintenance.



What would you guys recommend? Let me know what other information I can provide to help. Thank you for your knowledge!
  Reply With Quote
Old March 31st, 2020, 09:13 AM   #2
dogleg43
Member
United States

dogleg43 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Indiana
Posts: 520
Man-Off-Auto selector switch? Manual is hardwired to starter.

Last edited by dogleg43; March 31st, 2020 at 09:30 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 31st, 2020, 10:17 AM   #3
James Mcquade
Member
United States

James Mcquade is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Nashville, Tennessee area
Posts: 3,579
I would look at the program for the interface signals.
once you find them (there should be at least 2, one for run, one for stop) and also a signal to the other systems.


remove the signals to the conveyor plc.
remove the signals to the other plc's
jumper the required I/o to get the conveyor running.


BUT !
there may not be a start / stop signal to the conveyor.
can you use the manual controls?


james
  Reply With Quote
Old March 31st, 2020, 12:32 PM   #4
GaryS
Member
United States

GaryS is offline
 
GaryS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Lancaster Pa.
Posts: 1,940
In short LOTO ( Lock Out Tag Out) it’s not only a s good idea but it also the law down here in the states
Any person working on a conveyor must have their LOTO on the motor disconnect.
If you don’t the fines could be very large and if somebody gets hurt the fine could be over $100K
I have seen fines like that for companies that violate it.
If the conveyors need to be interlocked for normal use if you lock out one conveyor to work on it, the interlocked conveyors will also stop that’s the way it should work. But please keep in mind that the interlocked conveyors are still operational.
The plc code should interlock the conveyors and provide an orderly startup and shutdown.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 31st, 2020, 02:03 PM   #5
dogleg43
Member
United States

dogleg43 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Indiana
Posts: 520
Quote:
Originally Posted by GaryS View Post
In short LOTO ( Lock Out Tag Out) itís not only a s good idea but it also the law down here in the states
Any person working on a conveyor must have their LOTO on the motor disconnect.
If you donít the fines could be very large and if somebody gets hurt the fine could be over $100K
I have seen fines like that for companies that violate it.
If the conveyors need to be interlocked for normal use if you lock out one conveyor to work on it, the interlocked conveyors will also stop thatís the way it should work. But please keep in mind that the interlocked conveyors are still operational.
The plc code should interlock the conveyors and provide an orderly startup and shutdown.
100% agree with the above post. I just expected this to already be installed on the conveyors. Maybe be sure to have disconnect AUX contacts feeding back to PLC input indicating its state.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 1st, 2020, 07:01 AM   #6
janner_10
Lifetime Supporting Member
United Kingdom

janner_10 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Tewkesbury
Posts: 1,301
Power the line down and just use an external source to drive the conveyor motor, whether it be a DOL or spare drive, depending on what you have to hand or how fast or slow you want it to run.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Siemens s7-300 ladder for conveyer belt Azad Fazal LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 September 19th, 2013 05:16 AM
Isolate the Magneticpickup sensor jcp LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 May 9th, 2011 05:39 AM
Please Isolate Doug_Adam LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 May 9th, 2006 10:00 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:15 AM.


.