Elevator PLC Question

jicokazoe77

Hi I'm new to plc and I've been looking for solutions in 4 floor elevator.
I have been studying this elevator solution for like a week now, and this part bothers me:

BnTHm4d.png

From what I see from the simulation, it is like a pulse that randomly latches and unlatches going up and going down flag.

It's kinda weird but is it safe to use in the real world?

Welcome to the Forum!

Do be aware that you should not be "looking for" solutions but "creating" solutions to this homework problem. If you happen to "find" something, you will learn nothing but how to cheat by copying other people's effort. This may be enough to get you through a lesson or a class, but not a life.

And remember, your teacher's Googling skills are probably equal to your own.

You did ask a legitimate question, which deserves a legitimate answer, however.

First off, the PLC never does anything randomly. It always does what it's told, which may or may not be what you intend.

If you look at rung 8, you'll see reference to "T4:2.ACC.1". This is a bit in the accumulated time of the timer. Remember your binary:

Value | Binary
0 = 0 0 0 0
1 = 0 0 0 1
2 = 0 0 1 0
3 = 0 0 1 1
4 = 0 1 0 0

The /1 bit is the second from the end, thus is true (making -| |- true) when the value is 2 or 3 (or 6 or 7 ....), and false (making -|/|- true) when the value is 0, 1, 4, 5, etc.

The TON instruction is driven by the -|/|- of the timer's own DN bit. Thus, because of the way the TON "thinks", when the time is up, the DN bit gets set, making DN true and thus the -|/|- NOT true, which resets the timer, including the DN bit, which then makes -|/|- true, and the timer starts from scratch. This is a very common technique.

Thus the timer counts 0-1-2-3-(4 back to 0), changing every 0.1 sec.

Thus for the first 0.2 sec, -|/|- T4:2.ACC.1 will be true, making the Up Flag true and the Down Flag false. Then during the next 0.2 sec, it will be the other way around.