Plc5 Allen Bradley

cmcc60

I am new to plc's and was wanting to know how I can program a pushbutton to turn on 16 lights one at a time and each one stay on after the pushbutton is released at present I have the stop, start with seal in contacts and an internal coil that operates each rung. By putting my pushbutton switch on each rung with a light when I activate the pushbutton all 16 lights come on.

The PLC teachers are learning...they are getting trickier. From your question I "think" you want to turn on 16 lights sequentially.

If you have studied plc's at all you should note that they used 16 lights in this equation. Why was that done?

My opinion for 2 reasons...to better acqauint you with word files(which uses 16 bits per word file) and used a drum sequencer or sequential operation.

THE HOW is plc dependent on manucfacturer how its done in sequential operation in some case BUT using timer(s) its possible to create your own sequence.

BTW if you just need to turn on 16 lights when pushing the button there are numerable options concerning the button but the simplest is:
Code:
|   Stop  Pushbutton                  16 lights
|---|/|----| |-------------------------( )--|
|       16 lights |
|----------| |----|

Pushbutton ( normally open ) will turn them on...Stop P.B. (normally closed will turn them off).

Note the lights must be wired in parallel if of the same voltage...ie one output is used and all lights wired in parallel to that output.

cmcc60,

There are at least a half-dozen different ways to do what you are trying to do. The simplest one that comes to mind is as follows...

Code:
                +-----------------+
                | UP/DOWN COUNTER |
     PB1        |                 |
 ----| |--------+ Up              |
     PB2        |                 |
 ----| |--------+ Down            |
     PB3        |                 |
 ----| |--------+ Reset           |
                |                 | 
                +-----------------+

CNT