Wonderware: OPCLink v.s. FS Gateway. Preference? + Help

wildswing

I'm just getting my feet wet with getting OPC data into Intouch 9.5. I've set up OPCLink with a few test tags coming from a couple of OPC servers (ION and Cutler Hammer). All seem to work ok. From what I understand, OPCLink is a legacy IO server while FS Gateway is from the newer DAServer family. Is that correct? Before going further with development of this system, I'm considering trying out FS Gateway. I want to do it right the first time.

I started playing with FS Gateway and got stuck pretty quick. Questions:

1 - Where does one identify the Intouch access name TOPIC in FSG?
2 - With OPCLink I was able to define the Intouch tagname's ITEM name using more than just the OPC item's name, that is, I could include the entire path or hierarchy (prefix?). This allows me to use only one access name that points to the OPC server, then the item name drills down through the hierarchy to the item. Can this be done with FSG?

That may be confusing. Here's some pics of what I'm talking about. How do I translate what I can make work with OPCLink into FSGateway????

FSG Config...

fsgatewayconfig01-0.jpg

fsgatewayconfig02-0.jpg

That's as far as I get with what I know. I can get OPC Server > OPCLink > Intouch set up working fine, but I can't figure out how to configure FS Gateway to get the same results. Here's how I've got it set up with OPCLink.

Intouch access name...

intouchcutlerhammeraccessname-0.jpg

Tag in Intouch...

intouchcutlerhammertag-0.jpg

OPC brouser...

opcitembrouser-0.jpg

OPCLink topic definition...

opclinktopicdefinition-0.jpg

Any suggestions or advice regarding the ease of use, reliability, etc of FS Gateway? Whatever assistance you can provide would be very much appreciated! Thanks in advance!

Answer to your Questions:

1. Your Device group name which is in present case is "New_OPC_000_New_OPCGroup_000" will server the purpose of Topic in InTouch Access name