Micrologix 1100 Ethernet Ip setup problems.

joshshill1994

Hello, i am a beginner experience level with plc and network setup. the problem i am currently having is when i try to assign an ip address to my micrologix 1100 in the bootp server application, the server shows that the ip address has been assigned and sent to the MAC address but the ip address does not show up on the lcd screen on my plc as assigned and when i try to disable the bootp in the application the status bar is telling me that the communication has been refused.
The setup i have is my plc is currently connected as part of a small trainer kit that i purchased so it is already wired to some switches as inputs and lights/fans as outputs. The laptop i am using only has 1 true ethernet port so i am currently using a ethernet to usb adapter for my internet connection and this uses a cat 6 ethernet cable. the cable i am using to connect to my plc is an orange crossover cable that goes directly into the ethernet port for my laptop.
I have already set my laptop's ip address as static, so i dont think there is a problem there but i could be wrong. I have been trying to setup this ethernet communication with my plc for over a month now and it is getting to be very frustrating. Any help would be greatly apprecated

no, i was under the impression that the disable bootp/dhcp function had to complete in order to be able to cycle power and retain the ip address. When i press the disable bootp/dhcp button it says that it attempts to connect but it fails the requested operation

Bootp is notorious for failing to report successfully disabling BootP even when it did indeed succeed.

It has been my experience that if you don't power cycle the ML1100 (and ML1400) things will churn along just fine for a bit and then communication will begin to falter, so I try to always power cycle right after setting the IP address.