Question on emergency stop circuit

talldude42

Hello everyone. This is my first time designing a system from scratch. The system is for a rubber injection molding press. I have the PLC all put together, wired most of the programming done, and I am working on figuring out the emergency stop circuit now. My understanding is that when you hit the emergency stop button all functions of the machine will cease and cuts all power to everything except the controller and HMIs. I have 2 voltages, 24vDC which powers all inputs, and 110VAC which powers my outputs coming from the PLC.

My main question is, how are you able to have any sort of indicator telling the operator that the emergency stop has been pressed (such as stack light, alarm siren etc.) with out having some sort of output voltage going somewhere? Is it acceptable or common practice for this to be allowed? Our current machines were built with not much thought into these things and dont have any sort of indications that it has been pressed.

I currently have a pop up window on the hmi but thats it so far.
Thanks for your input and comments!

To indicate when a E-Stop is activated you set an alarm on the HMI to let the operator know what's going on.
In addition I like to bring an input from each device back to the PLC as well as the safety circuit. Then place an indicator on the HMI to tell the operator what device was activated
I like to do my emergency stops and interlock's first but that's just me.
But before you do the E-Stop and Interlocks you must do an assessment of the safety needs o the machine so you can plan the emergency / safety circuit's don't short cut them somebodies life is on the line it may be yours.

Never did the stack light for EPO, but on the HMI if you wire each EPO pushbutton you can have an alarm saying which was hit and at what time.

I would install a dual channel system.

Channel one: all emergency stop devices (Pushbuttons, guard switches and so on) in series to an ESR.