You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old April 28th, 2010, 05:23 PM   #1
drwhite
Member
United States

drwhite is offline
 
drwhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Winfield, AL 35594
Posts: 7
EZ Touch Screen Delta RMC 75

Ok. I have an EZ Touch screen, little 4" Mono. I have a Delta RMC Controller with two axis. I program position point from the EZ touch to the RMC variable table. On the EZ touch I have a numeric display, 4 digits, with a tag relative to the address in the RMC. I have two buttons that can increment or decrement this value for each axis. Now the stupid problem. In the RMC the values are non-retentive reals so the touch screen can change them. What I want, is to put an indicator light on the screen next to that numeric display box AND have it light when a value in the RMC is reached.
i.e., if the RMC is assigned say 3.187, so when it reaches that I want to have the indicator light come one. It's like, I can send data to the RMC from the EZ, but I don't know how to send
data from the RMC to the EZtouch. To me, it's like I need an equation. When A=B then C, where A is the axis value in the RMC and B is the Numeric box value in the EZ, and C is the achieved (or not) value to tell the EZ to light the button. I've tried to say this as many ways as I can. Help, somebody!!
  Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2010, 06:21 PM   #2
CharlesM
Member
United States

CharlesM is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 1,129
Did you download the example fromt the Delta web site? I'm 90% sure they have an example that will help you out. You can get the address you want to read out of RMC Tools but it may be easier to read the indirect data map. The indirect data map will allow you to map any of the addresses in the RMC to a block of memeory. I don't know if the in Position bit would be good enough for what you want. If not you should be able to read the actual position of the axis and compair in the touch screen for changing the display.

If you still have problems talk to Jacob at Delta. I think he made all the examples and should be able to help you out.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2010, 11:56 PM   #3
Peter Nachtwey
Member
United States

Peter Nachtwey is offline
 
Peter Nachtwey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Vancouver, WA, US
Posts: 6,761
Quote:
Originally Posted by drwhite View Post
In the RMC the values are non-retentive reals so the touch screen can change them.
The values are 32 bit. You have a choice of DWORD, DINT or REAL and if you have a RMC75E the values can be retentive

Quote:
What I want, is to put an indicator light on the screen next to that numeric display box AND have it light when a value in the RMC is reached. i.e., if the RMC is assigned say 3.187, so when it reaches that I want to have the indicator light come one.
The in position bit in the status register would probably be what you want.

Quote:
It's like, I can send data to the RMC from the EZ, but I don't know how to send
data from the RMC to the EZtouch.
That is because the RMC is a slave and it doesn't speak unless spoken to. The EZTouch must read the data from the RMC.
download
http://www.deltamotion.com/files/eztouchdemo.zip
__________________
"Living is easy with eyes closed, misunderstanding all you see...." Strawberry Fields Forever, John Lennon
  Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2010, 10:01 AM   #4
drwhite
Member
United States

drwhite is offline
 
drwhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Winfield, AL 35594
Posts: 7
Thumbs up Thanks,

I really like these forums. I'm like a lot of 60+ manufacturing engrs, I went to the school and I help start up the machine, but I don't program EVERY day. Therefore, working on a machine once every two or three months, well, your mind goes dry on the skill. I shall always believe what one person told me "years" ago. "Only learn ONE software, or at least ONE software really well. If you try for two, you'll be bad at both."
Thank you for your help.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CP340 communication with proface touch screen sttchui LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 September 3rd, 2008 03:39 AM
EZ Touch Screen Problem? BoxerBrats LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 30 March 21st, 2008 04:42 PM
EZ touch screen programming Jim G. LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 March 19th, 2008 12:38 PM
Ez Touch Screen jayala LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 10 April 7th, 2007 01:17 AM
EZ Touch Program Corrupted msinclair LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 November 30th, 2004 04:10 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:53 AM.


.